Tags

, ,

For quite some time I have been collating family recipes, trying to retain some small element of our family’s food heritage, with a goal to developing a keepsake book for my loved ones.

I see it as a way to cherish the past, while allowing traditions to evolve into new moments. It’s a way to share just some elements of those special times we have entertained together across the table. What started out as letters from my grandmother, with her favourite recipes attached, today becomes a public commitment to sharing a little of our past. It may only appeal to immediate family members, or may evolve into something more.  I don’t have any expectations, other than to put family traditions and recipes into writing so I don’t lose or forget why they were so special.

At some stage in the future, I may try to design and publish these recipes as a book. However until then … welcome to our family dinner table.

